Newspaper Archive of
The Columbia Star
Columbia, South Carolina
May 13, 2004     The Columbia Star
PAGE 6     (6 of 22 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 6     (6 of 22 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
May 13, 2004

Newspaper Archive of The Columbia Star produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2019. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

MAY 1 3 . 2 0 `4 Leaders march for educational equ ity South Carolinian whose feet will do their talking have pledged to march to the State House May 15 in support of financial equity in education. The grow- ing list of individuals and organization heads represents a cross-section of Palmetto State leadership. Pat Conroy, whose first novel, The Water is Wide, emanated out of the author's teaching years on rural Daufuskie Island, will be grand marshal for the march. Co-chairs of the march are Rhett Jackson and Lonnie Randolph Jr. Sam Tenenbaum is treasurer. Honorary chairs are Dick Riley, for- mer US secretary of education (1993-2000); Ernest A. Finney, former chief justice SC Supreme Court; Inez Tenenbaum, SC superintendent of educa- tion; Major General Charles Bolden, USMC (ret); US Astronaut; Kary Mullis, 1993 Nobel Prize Winner; Natlaniel Briggs, son of Harry Briggs; Brumit B. DeLaine, son of Rev. Joseph DeLaine; Joseph A. DeLaine Jr., son of Rev. Joseph Delaine; Robert E. McNair, former gover- nor (1965-1970; Hon. Ernest F. Hollings, US senator; Bishop Jack Meadors, United Methodist Church; Larry Jackson, president emeritus Lander University. March Coordinator is Charles T. Ferillo Jr. The date for the march marks the anniversary of the Briggs : Elliott case that became part of the landmark Brown v. Board of Education case that changed the educational and societal landscape of America. Individual co-sponsors (as of May 3) Mayor Joseph P. Riley Darla Moore John Rainey Joseph Alley Jerome P. Bryant Annie C. McDaniel Mary Lynn Diggs Vince Ford Richard Dozier Dr. Hal French Rev. George W. Watson, Sr. Bob Lewis Jan Love Rev. Hayes T. Gainey, Jr. Preston H. Winkler Rev. Don Britt Rev. D. S. President Joe McCulloch Julia Sibley-Jones Betty J. Cunningham Rev. Ron Brailsford, Sr. Genny Reich Letts Martha Thompson Tom and Judy Turnipseed John Myers Harriott H. Faucette Phelps Bultman Very Rev. Dr. Philip C. Linder Milton Kimpson Bishop Frederick James Dr. Cleveland Sellars Lucy Phynise Witherspone Betty Lumpkin Gregory Agnes H. W. Burgess Edward Sellars Alan Kahn Stuart and Arlene Andrews Rev. John Whatley III The Honorable Bob Coble John and Rachel Jakes Dr. Bernie Dunlap, president Wofford College Dr. Benjamin Gimarc Dr. O'Neal Humphries Prof. Janette Turner Hospital Dr. John Bryan Dr. Joseph Rice Dr. John Mark Dean Philip G. Grose, Jr. Dr. Dan Carter Dr. H. Frederick Reisz Dr. J. RObert Shirley Dr. Karl Keider Dr. Mark M. Smith Dr. Thorne Compton Dr. Harris Pastides Dr. Donald Saunders Bishop James C. West Sr. William H. "Sonny" Dubose Dr. Lewis W. Fowler Jr. Bishop Lawrence McClesky Eddie Fogler Bill Dufford Harriett Keyserling Trip DuBard Walter and Deena McRackin Dr. John V. Griffith Richard Harrington Reed Swann, immediate past pres ident SC State School Board Association The Hon. John Spratt, US Congress, 5th C.D. The Hon. Jim Clyburn, US Congress, 6th C.D. Terry Dozier, 1985 National and SC Teacher of the Year Traci Young Cooper, 2002 SC Teacher of the Year Organization Co-Sponsors (as of May 3) Friends of Education Alliance for Quality Education SC School Boards Association SC Rural Education Grassroots Committee SC Institute on Poverty and Deprivation The SC Education Association SC Christian Action Council Columbia Urban League SC Fair Share Education Fund Give Kids Good Schools SC School Improvement Council Board of Trustees Seventh Episcopal District, AME Church of SC SC Baptist Education and Missionary Convention Board of Church and Society United Methodist Church SC Association of School Administrators Trinity Episcopal Cathedral League of Women Voters of SC Greater Columbia Chamber of Commerce SC Association for Rural Education Carolina Peace Resource Center Columbia Luncheon Club Edisto Fork Community Development Center, Inc. Richland County First Steps Lee County First Steps Past Chairs of the Greater Columbia C Council SC AFL-CIO American Women SC Coalition to Penalty SC Conference SC Appleseed SC Hispanic Women Studies Turnipseed Law Alliance of Greater Dicks Greater Columbia Relations Council SC Green Party Kershaw Promotion Sumter First Steps Southern Southern Regional SC Fair Share SC Progressive Pickens County Parent Coalition SC Stand for The Happ3 Interfaith Cc SC, Inc. SC Alliance of Educators Columbia Association SC Chapter Social Workers The Board of Columbia Modjeska Monteith for Justice, Rights Pee Dee Educatio USC Social Work Association Charleston SC Association Psychologists ,g Sons make their We also sell harman/kardon Bill Frawley I All New Reference Series at Frawley's Audio 771-7340 2714 Devine Street (across from the Whitney Hotel) We install home theater "We save money on eye exams, prescriptions, our cell phones... even our car insurance." 1-866-FB-MEMBER Julian D. Wilson, third son of Congressman Joe Wilson and his ivife also Roxanne was commis- Clemsoa sioned as a second lieu- he was tenant in the US Army. mander Lt. Wilson will attend the Lt. Officer Basic Course for Cpt. the Signal Corps at Fort with Gordon, GA, afterwhich Guard iv he will be assigned as an er officer with the SC Army Wilson Jr. National Guard. He is the